Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies and the Time I Baked them in my Toaster Oven

1 toaster oven

Last week I honestly thought I was the MacGyver of home cooking. Until I posted a picture of cookies baking in my $30 toaster oven from Target on Instagram and my old roommate informed me she bakes in her toaster oven all the time during hot summer months.

Genius.

Her, not me.

Today, I’m posting my not so original recipe for Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip cookies, with instructions on baking them in a toaster oven (it’s not really that different).  The twist in my version is that the recipe and instructions are for completely making dairy free cookies.  Yes, Oreos are dairy free… slightly terrifying, right? But before we get to the recipe, let’s talk about how we ended up baking them in my toaster oven.

The technical set up, obviii

Suuuuper technical up in here!

Last week was pretty much the dumbest week ever. Like the only way you can understand how dumb it was is to have an Antoine Dodson gif tell you it was really dumb. For real.

Tell ’em ‘Toine!

Monday morning I sliced my toe open in the grossest place in America: the T Station (be careful with sandals and escalators, my ladies). That afternoon I had to get a tetanus booster. On Tuesday Evan figured out our oven was broken. Wednesday it was confirmed our oven wouldn’t get over 250º, and it was also announced that the 4th of July was basically cancelled in these parts due to hurricane Arthur. Thursday we watched a half-assed pops concert/fireworks show thanks to thunderstorms. And Friday we watched Independence Day no less than 2 times while baking and drinking while it poured rain outside.

But like the ridiculously cheesy saying goes – “to see the rainbow you must endure the rain” – lots of positives came from all this.

First, I don’t have tetanus. Second, my super attentive landlords had a BRAND SPANKING NEW oven delivered TODAY. Third, I learned the joy of not overheating my kitchen by turning my oven to 350º for a few hours on a hot day. And fourth, I watched Independence Day no less than 2 or 3 times on Independence Day… 90s blockbuster films really get me.

IMG_8640

Nothing says freedom like Jeff Goldblum in Independence Day

Anyway, enough about me… let’s get to what really matters:

cookies in half

DIABEEEETUS!

First and foremost: In sticking with my “give credit where credit is due” policy, this idea/recipe/cookie is straight up stolen from Picky Palate (my sweet tooth spirit guide). I’ve been making these cookies for longer than I’ve not eaten dairy, and have obviously spent too much time trying to perfect the dairy free version.

Oh hayyy, Martha

Oh hayyy, Martha, I pre-measure ingredients, too!

Pre-Cooking Notes: I have been baking dairy free for about 2.5 years now, which is not that long, but it is long enough to experiment.  I would be remiss not to share some of my ‘secrets’ with you. If you take nothing else from this blog ever, please take this… The golden rule of baking with non-dairy “butter” is

THE COLDER, THE BETTER.

Keep everything freezing cold. Like you are making pie dough cold. Fake “butter” melts at a much lower temperature than real butter, so the cold is essential.

For me, this means pre-measuring all my ingredients, Martha Bakes style, so I can work quickly. It also means using a metal mixing bowl and putting it in the freezer prior to combining any ingredients. I also keep my “butter” in the back of the fridge till go time (you don’t want the butter to actually be frozen). And, I let the dough sit in the fridge (the longer the better) before forming the cookies. Also, you should freeze the formed cookies for a few minutes before popping them in the oven. Seriously, this might sound cray cray, but none of that “room temperature” BS works here. If I could prep these in a walk-in, I would.

3 cream the buttah

Cream it right, Cream it good, Cream this butter just like you should. (I hope my grandma doesn’t get that reference..)

flour mixtcha

dough and plastic wrap

cookie log

This also means make sure you plan your time properly when baking these bad boys because they are labor intensive and take A LOT of time.

Ironically, this video is from when we made these last 4th of July.  Evan is a master cookie former.  Oh, and don’t mind Jurassic Park in the background… what did I say about 90s blockbusters?

Also, I increase the amount of vanilla Picky Palate specifies and add some liquid sweetener syrup because with all the flour in this recipe and still using real eggs with fake butter, the cookies can end up a little dry. It also masks the fact that the baked-buttery-goodness flavor just isn’t there.

You can use whatever kind of chocolate chips you prefer.  I use Ghiradelli or Whole Foods brand and go with dark chocolate, or semi-sweet, or xx% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips.  Whatever suits your fancy, really.

And lastly, I highly recommend Double Stuf Oreos (duhhhhh), but I’ve used mint ones at Christimas time.  And definitely spend the extra $ on Oreo brand, other sandwich cookies tend to break when you’re forming the cookies which is annoying.

forming cookie

cookies formed

cookies in oven

Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup non-dairy butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ cup light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ tbsp pure vanilla
  • 2 tsp agave syrup or maple syrup
  • 1 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 ½ – 3 ¾ cups flour
  • 12 oz. bag of dairy free chocolate chips or chunks
  • 1 bag/case/box (?) of Double Stuf Oreos

Instructions (for Toaster Oven baking)

  1. Preheat toaster oven (or reg oven) to 350º F and place a metal mixing bowl in the freezer for 10 – 15 minutes.
  2. Make yourself a neat little tinfoil baking sheet (unless you still have the mini tray that came with your toaster oven) by folding a sheet in half a few times, then folding up the sides about ½” and pinching at the corners.  You can cut parchment to line the tinfoil if, like Martha, you don’t like tinfoil touching your food.
  3. Measure all your ingredients into separate mixing bowls. The 3 ½ cups of flour, Kosher salt, and baking soda can be combined.  Mix with a whisk to break up clumps.
  4. In a stand mixer, or with an electric hand mixer, cream the cold “butter” and sugars.  (Cold vegan butter likes to be creamed a little bit longer, FYI) After creaming for several minutes add eggs, vanilla, agave syrup and mix till just combined.
  5. Slowly add dry ingredient mixture to wet ingredients.  You want the dough to closer to the consistency of pie dough since you’ll be forming it around cookies.  If mixture seems too ‘wet’ add ¼ cup of flour one tablespoon at a time. Add chocolate chips and mix till evenly dispersed in dough.
  6. Take cookie dough and wrap it up in saran wrap to sit for at least one hour in your refrigerator (the more time it sits, the better).
  7. When you are ready to form the cookies I recommend using a 1.5 tablespoon cookie scoop.  Put one scoop of cookie dough on top of an Oreo Cookie and one scoop on the bottom. Seal edges together by pressing sides own and cupping in hand until entire Oreo is enclosed with dough. Or refer to video in ‘pre-cooking notes.’
  8. When all cookies are formed, place in freezer for 8 – 10 minutes prior to baking.  If using a toaster oven I recommend forming and freezing cookies 4 – 6 at at time (depending on the size of your toaster oven) and working in batches.
  9. Bake cookies for 12 – 14 minutes, and let cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.
  10. ENJOY A DIABETIC FOOD COMA!
One thought on “Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies and the Time I Baked them in my Toaster Oven

Leave a Reply

